Edo House Of Assembly Invasion Suspects Get Bail

A Benin High Court on Monday granted bail to seven defendants facing trial for allegedly invading the Edo House of Assembly complex on August 6, 2020.

The suspects are: Wilfred Ogbewe, 52; Igbinobono Collins, 26; Salami Osayomore, 25; Odion Osayande, 23; Morgan Uwanboe, 47; Ifeoluwa Oladele, 36; and Agbonrere Festus, 25.

The presiding judge, Justice Efe Ikponmwoba, admitted the suspects to bail in the sum of N500.000  with a surety each in like sum.

Ikponmwoba said the surety must be gainfully employed and resident within the court’s jurisdiction.

Recall that the suspects allegedly invaded the state House of Assembly premises in Benin on the said date, “in a manner that caused a breach of the peace.”

Meanwhile, the judgment in their fundamental human rights action was adjourned till Tuesday, September 8.

Counsel to the applicants, Matthias Obayuwana, who filed a 24-paragraph affidavit in support of his motion, submitted that the motion was aimed at enforcing the fundamental rights to liberty and personal dignity, freedom from cruel, inhuman and degrading treatment of the applicants by the police authorities.

Add Your Comment

Omega Fire Ministries Along Auchi/Okene Road, Auchi, Auchi, Edo State Nigeria.


© 2022 Celebration TV –  All rights reserved.

AncoraThemes © 2022. All rights reserved.